× Welcome to the Naval War forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Topic-iconHi guys

bunwin63 created the topic: Hi guys

2 years 1 week ago

Just got Naval-War and printed out some data cards and QRS. I was wondering if there is a FAQ?
Bryan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: Hi guys

2 years 1 week ago

Hello Bryan, and welcome to the forum! I hope you will enjoy the game.

As of yet we have had no need for a FAQ. If there is any question, you can ask it here. If there is a typo, badly worded rule of some other thing that might warrant some changes, I usually work them into the main files in a few days. Any bigger changes that might require larger file changes are mentioned in the upcoming release posts in the main rules section.

That is the beauty of not having a printed set.


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

bunwin63 replied the topic: Hi guys

2 years 1 week ago

Thanks for the welcome. I have a few questions clarifying orders and activations
1. Orders. If a force has several squadrons, can orders generated by one squadron be used by another?'
2. Orders. A squadron with 1 cruiser (squadron flagship) and 4 destroyers generates 2 orders, is this correct?
3. Attack activation. page 9 "allows a squadron to select a target and engage it". Does this mean that every ship has to attack the same enemy ship, or can each ship target different enemy ships?
4. Attack activation. If I had 3 order tokens to spend, could the same ship (or squadron) use its guns, torpedoes, and ASW in the same turn?
5. Torpedo attacks. If a destroyer with target score 6 is attacked by a torpedo from the front/rear arc, does the +1 to the target score (=7) mean that it can't be hit? Or does the rule "target score can never get worse than 6" which is under Guns, also applies to Torpedoes?
Many thanks
Bryan

The following user(s) said Thank You: Naval War HQ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: Hi guys

2 years 1 week ago

bunwin63 wrote: Thanks for the welcome. I have a few questions clarifying orders and activations
1. Orders. If a force has several squadrons, can orders generated by one squadron be used by another?'

Yes, order- and disruption tokens are gathered into a pool that can be used for any squadron or ship.

bunwin63 wrote: 2. Orders. A squadron with 1 cruiser (squadron flagship) and 4 destroyers generates 2 orders, is this correct?

Yes, one token for being a 2+ formation with a squadron flagship and one token for having 3+ small ships in the same squadron.

bunwin63 wrote: 3. Attack activation. page 9 "allows a squadron to select a target and engage it". Does this mean that every ship has to attack the same enemy ship, or can each ship target different enemy ships?

Every ship in the squadron is free to pick it's own target. I'll take a look at the wording, there seems to be room for improvement there.

bunwin63 wrote: 4. Attack activation. If I had 3 order tokens to spend, could the same ship (or squadron) use its guns, torpedoes, and ASW in the same turn?

Gunnery and ASW share an activation, so you can either use your gunnery or ASW. Firing torpedoes is a different activation.

bunwin63 wrote: 5. Torpedo attacks. If a destroyer with target score 6 is attacked by a torpedo from the front/rear arc, does the +1 to the target score (=7) mean that it can't be hit? Or does the rule "target score can never get worse than 6" which is under Guns, also applies to Torpedoes?
Many thanks
Bryan

The torpedo section reads: "Add 1 to the target score (to a max of 6)", but this might be a bit ambiguous. I'll see if I can word it more clearly. A small change could be "Add 1 to the target score (to a max target score of 6)"

Thanks for the feedback, I'll make some small ninjafixes to the rulebook to word things more clearly (when I get to it, I'm currently having a major Photobucket meltdown, so I have to replace some critical images first), feedback such as yours is invaluable to get those small unclear passages out of the rulebook.


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

bunwin63 replied the topic: Hi guys

2 years 1 week ago

Thanks for that, it's all clear now. My confusion was due to careless reading, not the clarity of the text!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Powered by Kunena Forum