Topic-iconQuestion about the Marine Nationale Command Station Rules

Emperor Achlys created the topic: Question about the Marine Nationale Command Station Rules

3 months 2 days ago

The Marine Nationale command station rule specifically refers to orders of a specific specialism. I am unsure how I tell if a given order relates to a specific specialism? Is there a chart that I am missing, or does this rule simply refer to the orders that require a certain specialism? Any help or clarification would be greatly appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: Question about the Marine Nationale Command Station Rules

3 months 2 days ago

Hello Emperor Achlys and welcome!

The Marine Nationale chooses a specialism each turn. You can find these on the 'Fleet special Rule' command station card. Then there are some Command Station Orders that need a certain specialism active to be able to use them. For instance, the 'Jeune Ecole' order requires an active Torpedo specialism. This is indicated on the card. If there is no requirement on the card, the order does not require an active specialism, so you can use it at any time.
(Right, so that'll teach me trying to answer questions of my own game from memory -.-)



I hope that makes it more clear? If you have further questions, don't hesitate to ask!


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-
Last edit: 3 months 1 day ago by Naval War HQ.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Emperor Achlys replied the topic: Question about the Marine Nationale Command Station Rules

3 months 1 day ago

That clears up part of my question, though I am still a little confused in regards to disrupting these orders. Clearly the orders of the specialism I picked can only be disrupted with one token. However, how do I tell which orders can be disrupted with three? For example, if I were to pick the Gunnery specialism, my opponent could only disrupt the "Crippling Shot" order with one token. But since I cannot use the communications and torpedo specialism orders that turn, which orders is my opponent now able to use three token to disrupt?

Thank you very much for your reply!

The following user(s) said Thank You: Naval War HQ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: Question about the Marine Nationale Command Station Rules

3 months 1 day ago

Sorry for my earlier reply. Shows that you shouldn't answer good questions during work hours from memory....

The correct answer to your question is that you can always use the french orders just like any other orders. Its just that the specialization enhances some and degrades the others.

So if you have selected torpedo specialization this turn, the opponent can only use one disruption token to disrupt your order of 'Jeune Ecole'. If you use the order 'Crippling shot' in the same turn, the opponent can now use 3 disruption tokens to disrupt it.

This is the Fleet special rule from the card:
"Once every turn, you must select a specialism for your fleet. All orders of that specialism can be disrupted by your opponent with only one disruption marker instead of two. The orders of the other categories can be disrupted with three markers instead of two."

I might need to change 'categories' to 'specialisms' in the text on the fleet special rule card. That might make it more clear.


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-
Last edit: 3 months 1 day ago by Naval War HQ.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Emperor Achlys replied the topic: Question about the Marine Nationale Command Station Rules

3 months 1 day ago

That clears things up, thank you very much! I was under the impression that I was unable to use the orders from other categories at all while in my selected specialism. Looking forward to trying out these rules on the tabletop!

Last edit: 3 months 1 day ago by Emperor Achlys.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Powered by Kunena Forum