Topic-iconOn failure and on critical failure question

KpActual created the topic: On failure and on critical failure question

1 month 3 days ago

Hey! New and just found these rules yesterday, beyond impressed!

Question:
So a critical failure advantage is when you roll lower then you need to on the advantage maneuver/command station order card
When does the normal failure come into effect?

Thanks and hope that makes sense

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: On failure and on critical failure question

1 month 3 days ago

Hello KpActual, and welcome to the forum and the game :)

Each order has a base difficulty expressed as 2+, 3+ etc. If you roll the die for the order and fail to meet the base difficulty, you suffer an critical failure. It seems that this part is clear.

Now, your opponent may play 1 or 2 disruption tokens if you issue an order from your command station. These disruption tokens increase your difficulty by one point each. So an order with a base difficulty of 2+ becomes 4+ if your opponent plays two order tokens. Now, your odds look like this: if you roll a 1 (fail to meet base difficulty) you suffer a critical failure as normal, but if you roll a 2 or 3, you suffer just a failure, since you did manage to beat the base difficulty, but failed to roll enough to perform the order.

I hope this makes it a bit clearer?


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KpActual replied the topic: On failure and on critical failure question

1 month 3 days ago

Ahhh! Ok now I got it! Thank you so much for the lighting fast reply!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Powered by Kunena Forum