Topic-iconA couple quick damage control questions

Chiron0224 created the topic: A couple quick damage control questions

6 days 6 hours ago

Question 1. Does the Royal Navy ability "Emergency Repairs" put out fires? As written I assume it's only systems damage.

Question 2. Can you repair engineering damage in order to then have normal repair rolls again on everything else?

Question 3. Can you do inactive orders in any order you want? I.e. Could you do damage control to fix your guns, then open fire on a ship you already target locked, then do your compulsory move?

These questions came up because I was doing the River Plate scenario and the Graf Spee set three fires on the exeter right out of the gate and Exeter rolled lousy to put them out and started taking a lot of damage. Then, on Turn 3 Graf Spee's guns were damaged so I held off on using my order tokens during the turn, then I burned one to do "All Hands on Deck" and fix one of my guns (engineering was busted and I really wanted to bring the guns back, hence question 2), then I opened fire and ended the Exeter and the game. So my questions above are to settle two questions about the game. Question 1) Could the RN player have used order tokens to help put out the fires on Turns 1 and 2 to avoid his fate? and Question 2) Did I win fair and square?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: A couple quick damage control questions

1 day 17 hours ago

Quick answers:
1. You are correct, only systems damage.
2. As long as a module is not destroyed it can be repaired. So if you repair your engineering, you can have unmodified rolls for any subsequent damage control rolls.
3. Interesting, according to the rules, you are correct. This is actually the first time I've seen this come up. I'm still pondering if this is how I envisioned it. You are entirely correct that indirect activations can be played in any order. Damage control is an interesting action in that phase. First gut reaction is that damage control should only be allowed at the end of the turn. However, as it is modeled now it does reward smart play, involves a risk (you can still fail the rolls) and you need to delay your shooting to almost the end of the turn, allowing your opponent countermeasures. I think I'll keep it like that for now. Some damage can be just be considered a small malfunction and can be solved pretty quickly in real life.


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: A couple quick damage control questions

1 day 17 hours ago

Do remember that you can only fix one system each turn on a ship. So you could repair the engineering, but you then could not repair the guns in the same turn.


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Powered by Kunena Forum