Topic-icon Question regarding Gunnery

Makulator created the topic: Question regarding Gunnery

2 weeks 3 days ago

Yesterday we played the Cape matapan battle with 6 players.
We had one question regarding ranging in with Battleships.
The italian BB had his primary guns already ranged in on a RN BB. Now he wanted to fire his secondary 6" Arty at another ship.
The rules state that splitting fire with different weapon systems is possible.
We assumed that the 6" guns will have to make ranging shots against the new target. If successful the italian BB will have 2 ranged in targets. Did we play these right or will he loose the first ranged in target after ranging in the 2nd one?
We assumed that once the target is ranged in you could choose which WS fires full on the target.

Last edit: 2 weeks 3 days ago by Makulator.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Naval War HQ replied the topic: Question regarding Gunnery

2 weeks 2 days ago

Hello Makulator,

Yes, you have played it correctly. Usually secondaries have the rapid fire ability, so ranging in would not be necessary for those. When the secondaries need to range in, treat it as a separate range-in roll unless they fire at the primary target which might already be ranged in.


Game designer

"That which hath been is now; and that which is to be hath already been;" -Ecclesiastes-

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Makulator replied the topic: Question regarding Gunnery

2 weeks 2 days ago

Thank you for your quick reply.
It was an outstanding game.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Powered by Kunena Forum